My American Idol Journey: “You can still be who you wish you is..it ain’t happened yet&that’s what the intuition is.”-kanye west

You think you know…but you have no idea.=)

This weekend, I journeyed to Nashville with hopes on becoming the next American Idol. To what many would call a disappointment, I left Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena Saturday restless, with a big fat “No!” from a judge, and a ticket waiting for me on my car. But it wasn’t such a disappointment at all…more like motivation, I’d say. Most of all, though, it opened my eyes to how much American Idol is “just for tv”..and there’s nothing that anyone who auditioned and didn’t get picked should feel down about at all. Let me start from the beginning.

I got to my aunt’s house around 11:30 on Friday night..woke up at 2:45 and left for the long line in front of the Bridgestone Arena around 3:30am on Saturday morning. As I sat on my blanket, waiting patiently to walk through the doors with tons of other people, I was amused by the “Idol” hopefuls that surrounded me. They talked about their anticipations and I heard many things about what the experience would be like. One lady, who was there to support her husband, said that before the t.v. audition, contestants go through about three preliminary auditions that aren’t even aired. It made me wonder how the crazy and terrible-sounding people get through, but then I remembered..either the sheet or a worker for the show had said there was a table for entertainment. In short, they pick people who they know viewers will laugh at for making fools of themselves. What a compliment, huh? So, if it was true, I wouldn’t see Randy, Ryan (Seacrest), or anyone else famous, but I didn’t know for sure.

Anywho, I became acquainted with a sweet girl from Ohio. She, too, had some insight on the audition process. She spoke on what she’d heard from someone else’s experience who had auditioned in the past. She said that people auditioned at certain tables, that were each designated to look for a certain type/category of people, by genre or by entertainment…Meaning,even if you sounded awesome at your table, if you weren’t the genre they knew they were searching for, it was a no-go! It didn’t cross my mind again until after I’d already auditioned..

While waiting patiently, I observed all that was going on around me and practiced singing to my aunt over and over again, and even to and with the people around me. I had no idea what I was going to sing to the judges…but I was preparing, anyway. After coming inside around 6, it was three hours of sitting and screaming things like “Welcome to Nashville” for the cameras, before the A.I. employees told us how the process would work. The man said 12 TABLES would be set up. We would be sent to the tables in groups of four, singing snippets one by one before the judges. If we were chosen to go on to part two, we would be given a gold sheet of paper. If not, we would exit.

The tables set up on the floor.

During the long wait, any nerves I ever had completely left my body. I was ready. But more importantly, I was comfortable. I enjoyed being around so many people who liked music as much as I did and I enjoyed talking to them. I even bonded with a group of people in my section of the arena. All of them were talented, and over the course of 7+ hours, I felt like I’d known them for years. We had confidence, not only in ourselves, but in each other. We were sure we were getting a golden paper..each one of us…

It was about 5:05 when we finally got down on the floor to audition. Some of us (from my seating section) were sent two to section one, two of us to two, two to three, and the rest..I really don’t know. With two rows in front of me, I was ready, confident, and calm. I observed the process.  I saw the first row..none of the singers in the row were exactly impressive, but one guy stood out to me. (Only because he sounded so terrible.) He had on a black suit, with skinny pants. His voice was cabaret/showboat-like, but bad. After his row was dismissed, I noticed the 1 judge and the lady sitting with him asked the guy to stay behind. I couldn’t believe it! They handed him a golden sheet and he walked away for the second part…whatever that was. When it was almost my turn, I heard my new friends from the curtains beside me, and they sounded amazing. I just knew they had made it. After I confidently stepped up and sang, I was ready for my golden paper. I had finally done it, and I had done well, along with the other three people in my row. To my disappointment, the judge called us all forward and said “Thank you, but none of you are what we’re looking for.” “This doesn’t mean you’re not good singers, just not what we’re looking for…”

As my wristband was cut off my wrist, I was devastated. Then it all came back to me..The TABLES..the designated tables! I guess I had ended up at the wrong number..shame. I hugged my new friend who had also auditioned in my row, and we told each other how well we both thought each other had done, then parted ways.I saw my other friends before I crossed the street to find that they, too, had been turned down by their judge. I exited the arena a little sad and puzzled, but not defeated. What did I walk away with besides  that restlessness, big fat “No!” from a judge, and ticket waiting for me on my car? More than you think.

1)NEW FRIENDS! I met amazing people who were talented and so down to Earth. 2)I also left with courage to go forward in auditioning for even more things in the future. Since I was in high school, I have been told “You need to audition for A. I.” 3)Now I can say I did, and that’s enough for me. I saw how the process really works. I didn’t agree with it, but I understand. Singing is my dream, and just because I wasn’t what “they were looking for” doesn’t mean my journey ends there..the same goes for others. In the words of Erykah Badu “Peace and blessings manifest with every lesson learned.”=)

Here is a small part of me singing a clip of the song that I auditioned with:
Alicia Keys-How Come You Don’t Call Me

And here’s a link to a little inspiration. Amber Riley, the amazingly talented Glee character “Mercedes” was once turned down by American Idol as well…look where she is now.

Click here.

Published by staciarenee

A 30-something-year-old Chicagoan (now in Dallas) with a great passion for writing. It can never be placed into just one category...I also enjoy discovering new music daily and meeting new people. This is a place to share thoughts, music, and laughter with you. I'm excited about sharing my experiences as well as life lessons and observations. I anticipate new readers, plus your comments and input!

4 thoughts on “My American Idol Journey: “You can still be who you wish you is..it ain’t happened yet&that’s what the intuition is.”-kanye west

  1. I’m giving you a standing ovation, because you actually took the first step at pursuing your dreams. I know its been a long time coming for you to actually get the courage to try out for A.I. and I am so proud of you. Now that I am reading your experience, AI is truly for entertainment and is clearly not the plan God has for you. Keep your head up and I know that whatever you do to follow your dreams will be well worth it at the end.

  2. Stacia you know we will make it! and we know that TV shows that are extremely staged arent the way to do it. Keep grinding because you have an amazing talent that melts my soul! keep it up! 🙂

Leave a comment